On a schedule you can see who is on-call and when they are on-call.
On the Schedule Details page, you’ll see the calendar with the final schedule at the bottom of the page. The final schedule is the official on-call schedule that takes into account all Assignments and Overrides. You can view historical or future schedules by scrolling through the calendar one month at a time.
Look at the calendar or, by selecting Shifts on the schedule details page, you’ll see a view of all shifts associated with the schedule. To view your shifts:
You’ll likely need to make a number of adjustments to your on-call schedule right after it’s created.
By default, GoAlert will add the person who created the schedule as the only schedule assignment. To see what people or rotations are associated with the schedule, select Assignments. To add assignments to the schedule click the + sign in the lower right corner. On the ensuing pop-up, choose the assignment type. If you choose Rotation, you’ll be able to add any existing rotation to the schedule. By adding a rotation to the schedule, you’ll rotate through who is on-call for your team. Adding a rotation to the schedule is the most common assignment type.
If you don’t have a team where you can rotate on-call responsibilities (essentially, one person is always on-call), you can add a user as a schedule assignment. Note, a user needs to login to GoAlert so that their profile can be created before you can add them as an assignment.
Once you add an assignment to a schedule, you’ll want to adjust the assignment rules. The rules determine what days/times the assignment is effective. Let’s say for example, a specific assignment should only be notified of alerts on Monday through Friday between 9:00am and 9:00pm. To edit the rules for an assignment, find the assignment on the schedule’s assignment page. Then, select the ellipsis in the row for the assignment and choose Edit. On the ensuing pop-up, choose the days of the week and times where the assignment should be effective. In this example, I’d uncheck Sunday and Saturday and I’d change the start time to 9:00am and end time to 9:00pm. Alerts that come in to GoAlert outside of the assignment rules timeframe will be create but notifications will not be sent.
Rules are super useful if you share an on-call schedule between Minneapolis and Bangalore. The Use Case section of this document provides additional instructions on how to setup GoAlert in a global support model.
On the schedule details page, you can see all escalation polices that are associated with the schedule via the escalation policies section. If you’ve just created a schedule for the first time, it won’t have any associated escalation policies and that’s fine for now. You’ll attach/detach a schedule to the escalation policy via the escalation policy details page. Please note that a schedule must be associated to an escalation policy before it can receive any alerts.
An override is a manual adjustment to the on-call schedule. GoAlert offers three types of overrides: Replace, Remove, and Add. All types of overrides can be created by clicking on Overrides from within a schedule.
Replace: This most common override type is used when you need a teammate to take over on-call responsibilities for a short duration. With a replace, the User to be Replaced is removed from the on-call schedule and the User to Add is added to the schedule for the specified time period. Example: you are on-call for a week but you have a dentist appointment and won’t be online for an hour or two. By using a Replace override, you can talk with your team ahead of time and find someone who can cover for you while you are offline. You won’t be notified during the override, but your teammate will. Insert this type of override either by clicking on Overrides from a schedule or by hovering over a future shift from the calendar.
Remove: A remove override will remove you from the on-call schedule. Let’s say you already have multiple people on-call and your team agrees you don’t need to be on-call during a certain timeframe within your shift. Add a Remove override so that you don’t get notified of any alerts. Insert this type of override from Overrides from a schedule or by hovering over a future shift from the calendar.
Add: An add override will add you to the on-call schedule. Let’s say there’s a big event coming up and you want to help your on-call engineers by joining the schedule. Create an Add override so that you are notified of any alert in addition to your teammates already on-call. Insert this type of override either by clicking on Overrides from a schedule or from the button on the calendar that says Add Override.
A replace override will respect all assignment rules. For example, let’s say the schedule and assignment rules result in Desmond having two shifts; one on Monday from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm and another shift on Tuesday also from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm. If Aaliyah wanted to take both these shifts over from Desmond, create one Replace Override from Monday at 8:00 am to Tuesday at 8:00 pm. This replace override will result in Aaliyah being on-call on Monday from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm and on Tuesday from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm. Aaliyah will not be on-call from Monday 8:00 pm to Tuesday at 8:00 am because the assignment rules still apply.
Here’s what it looks like to create a Replace override where Aaliyah will cover Desmond’s on-call for 2 shifts – 8:00 am. to 8:00 pm:
See below how to edit or delete any scheduled override.
The Shifts view is accessible from the schedule details page and is a good way to see who is on-call and when. The shifts view shows the final schedule meaning that it’s the calculated schedule after all assignments, assignment rules, and overrides have been applied. If you want to know who will be notified during a particular timeframe, look at the shifts page.
In the the menu bar on the shifts page, you’ll see a filter icon; top right hand corner. You can use this filter to navigate to see who was on-call in the past or determine who will be on-call in the future. To ensure adequate performance, you can see shifts for up to 30 days. In the filter, you can also choose to only see shifts for a particular user via the Select User option. Super helpful if you just want to see when you are on-call.